As we move towards March 2023 and Tasmania Reads ALIA Island decided to ask our members to share their reading tastes. Today we’ve posed the question to Jen Johnson. We’d love to hear from you! Let us know about your reading style.

What type of reader are you?
I read one fiction book at a time and read non-fiction at the same time. If a book doesn’t grab me I ditch it – life is too short to read books we don’t like. When I’ve finished a book, especially one that has really grabbed me, I need a break before I start another one, although I will read short stories.

What was the last book/current book you’re reading?
I’m currently reading The Mother-In-Law by Sally Hepworth, I’m only 50 pages in but am enjoying the storyline so far. Sometimes I tell people about what I’ve read, especially if I think it would appeal to them.

What are you planning on reading next? Why?
My next book will be Wildflowers by Peggy Frew because it’s from the library and I’ll have to get it back.

Scenario: You open up your beautifully wrapped Christmas present and discover it’s a book. What would your reaction be, and why? (Does it depend on which book you get?)
Opening a book on Christmas Day is always a delight, mainly because I write lists about what I’d like Santa to bring, so I get books that I want to read.

Jen Johnson is well known for her role in school libraries. She is currently working for Libraries Tasmania and is based in Hobart.

Leave a comment