As we move towards March 2023 and Tasmania Reads ALIA Island decided to ask our members to share their reading tastes. Today we speak to ALIA Island member, Jan Richards. We’d love to hear from you! Let us know about your reading style.

What type of reader are you?
Like everything I do I am a ‘multi’ person – so squillions of quilting projects, professional undertakings, gardening jobs and many ‘reads on the go’. What I pick up to read ( or listen to) depends on what I’m doing so if I’m driving up to Hobart it will be an audio book downloaded from Libraries Tasmania and usually fairly light, If I’m travelling it’s more likely to be a focussed read as I know I’ll have plenty of uninterrupted time.

What was the last book/current book you’re reading?
I have just finished The Oyster Girl by Wren Fraser Cameron. It’s set in the far south of Tasmania in the last years of the 1890s. Provides a real sense of place and I’ll be heading down there to explore when I get a chance. I’d totally recommend it if you want to know more about Tasmanian history told through historical fiction.

What are you planning on reading next? Why?
Other Peoples Houses  by Kellie Hawkins – an airport novel which I picked up ( at the airport) a few months ago only reading a couple of chapters. Brought it with me to Bali (where I’m writing this) to finish. It’s a good poolside read but will stay behind for someone else to enjoy when we return home.

Scenario: You open up your beautifully wrapped Christmas present and discover it’s a book. What would your reaction be, and why? (Does it depend on which book you get?)
Joy. I always get at least one book for Christmas and have dropped some heavy hints about a couple I’d like but there will be a surprise in there too. The delight of sitting down with your new book on Boxing Day can’t be overestimated.

Jan Richards is a consultant working in the GLAM Sector (Jan Richards Consulting). She is also a member of the Tasmanian Library Advisory Board.

Leave a comment