As we move towards March 2023 and Tasmania Reads ALIA Island decided to ask our members to share their reading tastes. Today we speak to ALIA Island member, Sonya Moon. We’d love to hear from you! Let us know about your reading style.

What type of reader are you?
If I read a book, I absolutely love I will tell everyone, even people in queues at the doctors or airport. I can’t really read more than one book at a time, but I do have a load of unread books on my bookcase, and they do stress me sometimes.

What was the last book/current book you’re reading?
I read Shuggie Bain.  It was a fantastic, moving book, and I would definitely recommend it. A story of devoted love of a boy for his mum. I enjoyed it very much. 

What are you planning on reading next? Why?
I am currently supposed to be reading You Need to Know by Nicola Moriarty, one for Book Group. I will probably read it the day before. Book Groups is great as it forces me to read at least a book a month. I absolutely LOVE books and reading, but for some reason my brain isn’t settled enough to read regularly at the moment.

Scenario: You open up your beautifully wrapped Christmas present and discover it’s a book. What would your reaction be, and why? (Does it depend on which book you get?)
I just hug any book someone buys me and am very appreciative and excited.  I LOVE books as gifts.   Even more special if there is a particular reason why it has been given.

Sonya Moon is Community Learning Coordinator at Kingston Library | Libraries Tasmania

Leave a comment